Ham Wraps! Who Needs a Tortilla?

Before we went Paleo, I went through tortillas like mad. You know, those “heart healthy” whole grain tortillas. I’d fill them up with lettuce, olives, and tomatoes, and devour. I’d fill them up with whatever was left over from last night. I’d fill them up with scrambled eggs and veggies for breakfast. I loved me some wraps. Since we’ve gone Paleo, though, I’ve yet to find a tortilla substitute that works for wraps and is worth the time and labor involved. Most of the recipes I’ve found are crepes or crepe-like items, which is fine, but they’re just not as versatile as tortillas. I’ve heard there’s coconut wraps you can buy online, but I haven’t tried them yet. I have to admit, I’m suspicious. If all that’s in them is coconut, why can’t I make them? I’ll have to do some experimenting at some point.

One night we had some leftover Hempler’s uncured ham, and we weren’t sure what to have with it for dinner. Inspiration struck, and Magic Papa diced some veggies and made them yummy, then sliced some ham pretty thin. We wrapped the veggies in the ham slice, and it was HEAVEN IN MY MOUTH. It was better than a tortilla¬†because I love ham.

Ham wraps in the making! Ham, carrot sticks, homemade mustard, and diced veggies.
Ham wraps in the making! Ham, carrot sticks, homemade mustard, and diced veggies.

There’s no recipe for this one. The veggies were just carrots, broccoli, celery, and spinach, diced and sauteed with seasonings and lemon juice and coconut aminos. But trust me, ham wraps would work with anything you would put in a wrap. Just look at Magic Spark. She gets it.

Magic Spark couldn't wait for me to finish taking pictures. Must... Have... HAM.
Magic Spark couldn’t wait for me to finish taking pictures. Must… Have… HAM.

Magic Papa smeared on some homemade mustard, added some veggies, and rolled that baby up.

Ham Wraps Collage

It holds together really well–honestly, just as well as any crepe-like item I’ve tried, if not better. But it tastes better, because ham. And if I had a never-ending supply of ham, I would wrap salad fixings inside for lunch every day. Yum.

Ham makes an awesome tortilla. Try it, you'll see.
Ham makes an awesome tortilla. Try it, you’ll see.

And if you miss having tortillas for your family’s taco night, never fear. I’ve come up with a solution for that, too, and it’ll be featured in another post soon.

Leave a Comment Below!

